Another Brick in the Wall

One of my closest friends is leaving this weekend to participate in her first Ironman 70.3 event.  When she signed up for the race early this year, I committed to doing her long bike rides with her.  Nearly every Sunday this year, we have woken at the crack of dawn, straddled two wheels, and ridden all over the Wasatch.  Last Sunday was the final ride of the season.

To boost her confidence and make sure her legs still worked, we finished the ride off with a 5k run.  When triathletes do a bike and a run in the same workout, it is called a brick and triathletes have a whole wall of them.  Some bricks are decrepit, representing the sessions that are rough and require a lot of strength to finish.  Other bricks are strong, they almost hold the rest of the wall together with all of their strength.  That was the kind of brick Melissa had on Sunday.  Strong bike, strong run.  The workout was proof that she will go down to the race in Austin and show herself how amazing she is.

So here is to Melissa.  We are sending you the best vibes and wishing you the best of luck.  You have put the work in this Summer, the time has come to enjoy yourself while you complete something that not very many people can finish.  You are incredible and I know you will do great!

Tell Us! Leave a comment for Melissa below.  Send her a good luck wish!!!

31 thoughts on “Another Brick in the Wall

  1. Thanks for the kind words. After my slight meltdown yesterday I’m feeling much better. I really appreciate all the support from my Utah friends!

  2. Good Luck Melissa! You are going to find so much strength inside yourself. I can’t wait to hear how you do. I wish I had gotten to train with you guys a little bit.

  3. Oh Melissa I’m so excited for you! Good luck! Finally all your hard work over the summer is going to pay off with the best race ever!

  4. Mel! Good luck this weekend! I’m so incredibly impressed by your dedication and how hard you’ve worked. I’ll be sending some fist pumps your way so if you feel a surge of energy when you’re getting tired, that’s from me. You’re welcome.

    But seriously, best of luck! You’re gonna do awesome!

  5. Mel-

    You are going to do amazingly. I’m still in total awe that you are doing it. You are my hero. And I love the picture of you above. Wish I was going with you to document in pictures your amazing accomplishment.

    Love you!

  6. Mel- you’ve got this thing! Oh how I wish I could be there in person to cheer you on. Know that I am with you in spirit holding a huge poster that says Run like hell, Mel!!! Much love!

  7. Melissa, good luck this weekend. If anyone can totally rock it and dominate at a tri its YOU!!! You go girl….we’ll all be thinking about you.

  8. You’re going to be incredible. You’re more ironman than any man I know. Stronger, smarter, and way hotter. I’m so sad I can’t be there with you. You support everything we do no matter what it is. We’ll be cheering from here! It’ll be loud. That’s a guarantee. Love you. A lot a lot.

  9. Melissa! You are going to do great this weekend!! Remember the journey you have been through and enjoy!! You will be awesome!! Sending positive vibes your way!! – Sarah

  10. The insanity continues to elevate to new levels!! Good luck this weekend! Race hard and remember to enjoy your first 70.3! We are all cheering for you!

  11. Pingback: my craziest endeavor yet, 70.3 miles part 1 | run with mel

Leave a Reply

