Halloween Feast

I know it might be a little early to be talking about feasting, Thanksgiving is still a few weeks away, but my Halloween dinner was too yummy and festive to pass up as a post.  I am no chef, I wouldn’t even call myself a cook.  I merely do my best to put edible foods on the table then I cross my fingers, hold my breath, and hope that both my husband and I survive.  Tonight, however, I surprised us both and managed to make something we both actually enjoyed.

I found the recipe in Martha Stewart’s Whole Living magazine.  I have no idea how I ended up with this magazine.  It was one of those mystery subscriptions that just showed up in my mailbox one day and continues to show up once a month.  I normally flip through it and then throw it away.  But this time I found something that peaked my interest, Acorn Squash with Quinoa and Pistachios.  Not only was this so easy to make, it is very healthy and it was absolutely delish!

Start by pre-heating your oven to 425 degrees.  Brush the Acorn Squash with olive oil and then put it face down on a cookie sheet to roast.  15-20 minutes later, you will have a soft, caramelized acorn squash.

In the mean time, prepare 1 cup of Quinoa according to the package directions.  Chop 1/2 cup of Pistachios and crumble some Feta Cheese.  Once the Quinoa is finished, add the Pistachios and Feta.   Then add a splash of Apple Cider Vinegar and some additional Olive Oil.  Mix together and scoop the mixture into the squash.  Scoop the squash out with every bite and enjoy the sweet nuttiness of this Fall dish!

Prevent the Re-run!  Try a new recipe or try mixing up an old recipe by substituting an ingredient that you don’t normally use.

3 thoughts on “Halloween Feast

    • I am surprised to hear that it is related to veggies because it is a whole grain. I would expect it to be related to couscous or rice. Tumbleweeds, on the other hand, came to my mind first when I was thinking of the food’s closest relatives.

Leave a Reply

