Lose Yourself

As you may know by now, running is my sport of choice.  I love it for a variety of reasons but I always seem to come back to it because it is the only sport that works better when you don’t concentrate on what you are doing.  Let’s face it, running is most sports’ form of punishment.  It isn’t easy or comfortable and nearly every run sends me through every emotion in the book.  But when you get right down to it, running is best when you lose yourself.  I took the opportunity to do so over the weekend while visiting the deserts of Southern Utah.

The desert presents its own opportunities to lose yourself so the combination can become a source of energizing meditation.  I can’t remember the last time I took myself out in the open with just my breath, the wind, and my running shoes and then truly experienced the quiet complacence of the earth.  In the desert there are no distractions, just the rocks and the sand and the challenge of staying on the meandering trail.  What a metaphor for the composition of life.  Then you make it to some seemingly boring place and you turn around to a surprise; a nature-made amphitheater of white rocks and texture so incredible that you are left searching for the words…

My favorite is the scramble on the sandstone.  This is more child’s play than it is running.  Yet it is essential to the losing of oneself in the desert.   And then you make it to an overview so beautiful that you just stop and allow your breath to be swept away on the breeze that formed the beauty surrounding you.

Prevent the Re-run: What do you do to lose yourself?

2 thoughts on “Lose Yourself

  1. Thanks for the invitation today. Rhielle, the photos are spectacular and the prose is superb. What a great post, just what I needed. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

