Lost and Found

Since having finished my marathon (as I have been calling it lately) I have had some difficulty finding the inspiration to keep training.  I know I have some pretty lofty goals for my next marathon and for the next year of racing so not wanting to go for a run has been mildly frustrating.  I keep telling myself that I just need to take a break and that I will soon find my drive again, but I worry that I am kidding myself. Then this morning, with my eyes glued to the tele, I watched history in the making and found myself lacing up my shoes and heading out for a run.

meb wins Boston

Meb wins Boston!                                                                       Photo from businessinsider.com

This morning I witnessed two amazing displays of guts. The first was Meb Keflezighi. He ran an incredibly consistent race with a second half split exactly one second faster than his first.  He showed a great display of guts as the second place finisher crept in on his territory and he battled him off.  But most importantly, he brought the title of champion home to America after 31 years. As he crossed the finish line, my eyes filled with tears as I watched him realize his American dream.

The second display of guts was less obvious in the performance of Shalane Flanagan.  She led the race, at a record-setting pace, for the first 17-ish miles.  She had studied, prepared for, and worked for the win today but the course required more than she could give.  It was her post-race interview that really displayed how she felt about her day.

The emotion in her voice says it all.  I have been emotional after every big race I have ever done.  I have even sat myself down in my post-event shower and sobbed so hard that I felt I was bathing in tears.  Hearing that emotion makes her so relate-able and that much more gutsy. She loved her race and was happy with a PR but she is convinced that she can take the win at Boston and will keep returning until she gets it right.

While I was running today, I pictured myself at Boston 2015 and I hope I have the guts to get to that starting line with the courage and get-em spirit that was exhibited by our American athletes today. I don’t know that I am found yet, but I am certainly not searching for that athlete anymore; I can see myself running toward her with every step.

3 thoughts on “Lost and Found

Leave a Reply

